The Long Road – A Full Explanation

Hey everyone. Sorry for no post yesterday. Far Harbor for Fallout 4 came out yesterday so I spent a irresponsible amount of time playing it, when I should of been writing or blogging. Regardless, I’m going to go into detail with the artisitic inspriation for The Long Road, because I don’t think I have done that yet. 

So first off, The Long Road breaks what we traditionally think of as an album. The Long Road is more of a collection of songs with similar themes, The Long Road itself is a self-contained story, with a beginning, middle, and end. Motifs and melodies from one piece reappears again in subsequent pieces. Nothing is self-contained and everything relates to everything else. It’s an insteresting experiment in story-telling. Will anyone take note of the story unfolding? What images will the listener attach to each melody and motif? I’m sad that I don’t have enough popularity for someone to actually sit down and review the album, so I know what worked and what didn’t.

TLR is based on the hero’s journey, a literary device that describes 3 three act structure about a hero coming to terms with his/her powers and defeating evil. It goes into more depth than that, but what am I, an English Major? TLR is broken into three acts. The first act depicts the Hero being called into action. The second act shows the Hero facing his villain and losing and being tempted my darkness. The third act shows the hero rising from the ashes and overcoming evil. TLR follows that 3 act structure.

With TLR, I try to go beyond the good defeats evil that is used so much in music. Hell, that’s pretty much the summary of Betthoven’s 5th. I have tried to create characters with music, with emotionally traits. If I feel like spoiling the entirety of the album, I will go into more depth about that later. The bigger question is will people notice it without any reading? Can music serve as a language by itself, a medium that shows emotion and narrative. That’s the question I am trying to answer as a composer, in hopes that I can advance the art form. 

  

Leave a Reply

